A letter to my younger self

 

letter-writing-pen-paper_0

 

Sitting in my office, looking out of the window I thought to myself what would I say to my younger self? As soon as the thought struck me I decided to write a letter to the 18 years old me.

“Hello to my younger self,

You’re just out of school, excited about all the new opportunities in front of you. There are a few things I would like to tell you.

I know you have a lot of things going on in your mind, lots of dreams and ideas but you won’t succeed every time. You will fall and you will fail, but don’t get disheartened and certainly don’t stop. You will feel lost and discouraged but let me tell you, you are much stronger than you think.

 

I know your stubborn self will do what it wants. While being a rebel and doing things which you shouldn’t do will give you an adrenaline rush, there will be a few times when you should stop and think twice before doing something. During the next few years, you will meet a lot of temporary people. Some friends whom you think will stay with you for a lifetime will no longer be there. But you will also meet a few people who will stick with you through thick and thin.

One thing I would definitely want you to know is that while you get busy making a career for yourself you shouldn’t forget to pursue your passion for photography, traveling, and dancing. It’s the one thing where you will find your escape. Today when I sit in my office, I sometimes wish that I had given them a little more time.

In the end, I would say that there will be moments of absolute high where you think you have achieved a lot, which would be an absolute delight but trust me there are many more opportunities waiting for you in the future. You will learn plenty of things from your mistakes. Embrace your strengths and flaws and they will help you achieve great things,

Your,

Future Self”

One thought on “A letter to my younger self

Leave a Reply

